Why Learn a Foreign Language?

The learning of a foreign language can be a fun way to introduce a child to a different culture. A young child is so free spirited that he or she is not easily intimidated . Young children are eager to learn, therefore they have no problem with imitation. Learning to imitate is a must when it comes to learning how to speak a language. That is how we learned our native tongue.

When I lived in Houston, I taught first grade for one year. The children were all Spanish speakers from Mexico. At the end of the year a lot of them became fluent in English, because they were so eager to learn. I later moved to Colorado and began to teach high school students. I had many Spanish speakers in some of my classes. These students had a lot more difficulties learning English. They were easily intimidated, and they were afraid to speak in front of their peers. Remember the number one rule to learn any language , you must practice, and the only way to practice is to speak! The next question how do you accomplish that tasks? You listen and then you imitate, plain and simple, zero quess work!

So now, what are the benefits of learning a foreign language? To start, if you want to attend a good college, you must have a least three to four years of a foreign language. Secondly, learning a second language can help you do well in others classes too. Thirdly, you become more marketable if you know more than one language. I am very fortunate that I am fluent in four languages. I have worked as a translator in the courts, I tutor college students, during the summers I teach young children in groups of five.

In my opinion , the greatest benefit of knowing a foreign language is the flexibility you have when you travel to the country where the language is spoken. As I write this article I am sitting in a very beautiful balcony in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. My husband took my three children on an adventure of a lifetime. They went ziplining in a beautiful canyon. It is so much fun to be able to communicate with people. I get to practice my Spanish while having a great time . Life is simply grand!

Leave a Reply

