THE STEPS TO MASTERING SPANISH- FOR ADULTS/ CHILDREN-PART ONE

Would you like to know about some very basic shortcuts to learning Spanish? Here are some suggestions that I know will work,because I have used them over and over again with great results. In this section I am giving some basic introductions, I will cover more information at a later time. The goal is to motivate you to learn not to overwhelm. I am also just about done with a great study guide for those individuals who have purchased my trilingual book Marie and Her Friend The Sea Turtle.

To start, you must first understand that the goal to learning to speak any language is to communicate. Most people get discouraged before they even start the process of learning.

Secondly, please remember there are very important words that are used on a daily basis. If you want to communicate a wish or desire you always start with using the pronoun I or the possesive pronoun MY. Daily communication requires all of us regardless of where we are from to simply verbalize life’s basic needs.
Great results with learning a language and communicating effectively comes from knowing those basic daily vocabulary. ARE YOU READY?

We will start with learning the pronouns. All pronouns are used to replace a noun. In English they are: I, you, he,she ,it ,we, you, they. For right now we will focus only on the pronoun I . That is very important because you want to be able to say something about yourself or a need you may have. I just came back from Cabos San Lucas, and since my youngest will study Spanish in high school in the fall I taught him what I am now teaching you. I wanted him to understand how to communicate a need in Spanish. I took him to the local grocery store and asked him to go ask a clerk for help. He learned that YO means I in Spanish. He asked the clerk- YO QUIERO COMPRAR PAPAYAS , ¿POR FAVOR DÓNDE ESTÁN.? The clerk took him directly to where the papayas were. Next I had him ask about bying other fruits, oranges, pineapples, and mangoes. The goal was for him to learn how to use the subject pronoun YO until he was very comfortable with it all the while learning the names of fruits in spanish. He used the phrase YO QUIERO COMPRAR which means I would like to buy, the rest of the phrase means where are they please? To inquire about the oranges, pineapples and mangoes he just added the name of each fruit at the end of papayas.

For some people this may come across as too simple, but keep in mind that once you are able to communicate something of importance to you , that helps built self-confidence and with that comes the eagerness and willingness to try harder. This is just an introduction, in my next lesson I will go in more details about verbs and subjects.

One last thing, do you live near people who are native speakers? Have you ever met a native speaker who was not eager to teach you some words ,people in general are very proud of their culture and language. I became very fluent in Spanish(Spanish was the fourth and last language I learned how to speak) by constantly asking native speakers to help me, while in college I had one roommate who was from Spain and one from Cuba. Every chance I had I practiced speaking with them. That is the key to success my friend. Learning a new language can be so much fun. As for my son he was beaming from ear to ear after he was able to proudly ask for help in Spanish. I try teaching him something new everyday, and I later have him practice what he has learned. That is a very important key, you must practice, practice, practice and before too long you will be amazed at what you are able to retain. Do you think young children learned how to speak through osmosis? Absolutely not, they learned by listening and by practicing.

Next week I will post part two with a focus on verbs and subjects. Until then- Study the following : I-YO, You- TÚ, He-ÉL, She-ELLA, You(Formal)USTED, We- NOSTROS, NOSOTRAS, They- ELLOS, ELLAS, You ( Formal/plural) USTEDES

Leave a Reply

