SUPPORT FOR ALL AMERICANS ADOPTING HAITIAN ORPHANS

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Greetings to all,
My name is Nicole Weaver.  I am Haitian American, my goal is to provide support to new adoptive parents of Haitian orphans.  I will  post Haitian menus, tips and many other helpful information to facilitate an easier transition for  your newly adopted children.  I am also an educator with 25 years of teaching experience.  I am fluent in Creole, French,Spanish and English.  If you have a question please feel free to post it.
Posted by Nicole weaver at 6:54 PM

5 comments:

Janet Ann Collins said…

Here’s something the adoptive parents might want to know:

Sometimes kids whose parents die are very sad, but they seem to deal with it okay. Then, many months later when they’ve experienced the permanence of death, they’ll suddenly fall apart. That happened to me when my father died. I was six years old when it happened and eight months later I read a book where an animal died and sobbed for hours. Nobody, including myself, knew why I was so upset. Another time something triggered one of my preschool students, whose father had died about seven months earlier, to do the same thing. This time her mother (whom I’d called) realized why the child was crying and helped her talk about her feelings. Don’t be surprised if that happens someday with the kids you adopt. If it does, recognize that they’re grieving for what happened because of the earthquake and encourage them to talk about it.

January 20, 2010 9:50 PM

Mayra Calvani said…

Hi Nicole,

Best of luck with your new and important blog. I look forward to stop by often.

January 21, 2010 4:54 AM

Susan Hornbach said…

Hello Nicole, this blog is a wondrful idea for the adoptive parents and their children. PTSD shows up in so many diverse ways. It could be anger, sadness, uncontrollable crying, withdrawl, state of shock, etc.

Then, there may be the nightmares of the Earthquake itself.

When my father died, I had dreams every night that he was still alive, and in the morning, I would be dissapointed all over again.

For all of the adoptive parents who come to this blog, I would like to say, you are Earth Angels for all of these beautiful Haitian children, who have now become Americans.

May God direct you, Bless you, help you to cope with all that comes down the road of parenting, and keep you in his light every minute of every day. My respect for you is infinite.

January 21, 2010 8:37 AM

Janet Ann Collins said…

In high school I had a friend who came to America live with relatives after WWII. He had been in a Nazi concentration camp and, because of the trauma, forgot how to speak German when he arrived here. He learned to speak English without an accent and never consciously remembered his native language. But when he took German in High School he had only to hear or read something once in order to learn it. Apparently that language was still in his subconscious. It’s not impossible that some traumatized children from Haiti might forget their native languages if they aren’t used with them here. If they do, they’ll be able to learn English and relearn their native languages later.

January 22, 2010 6:08 PM

Nicole weaver said…

Jan,
Thank you for this great post. I do appreciate it.
Blessings,
Nicole

Leave a Reply

