Tips for Teachers from Author Suzanne Lieurance

Tips for Teachers from Author Suzanne Lieurance

Thank you for following me on Day 3 of my 6-day virtual tour for my middle grade historical novel The Locket: Surviving the Triangle Shirtwaist Fire from Enslow Publishers. Obviously, this book was designed for classroom use as a way to supplement the regular social studies textbooks when it comes to helping students learn about events in American history. But I think readers enjoy the book mainly because they get to know and like the main character, Galena, a young Russian-Jewish immigrant who lived in New York City with her family in 1911. This was an interesting time in American history and I wanted this book to help readers get a feel for what life must have been like for struggling immigrants back then.

I have also written a nonfiction book about this tragic fire called The Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire and Sweatshop Reform. It is part of the In American History series from Enslow Publishers, Inc. When I visit schools across the country I sometimes talk to students about using real events in history as the basis for creating fictional stories. I even have a workshop about this, so I can guide students to choose historical events to research so they can create fictional characters who witnessed these events and tell their stories.

I love to visit schools, libraries, and bookstores to talk about my writing and my books. I particularly enjoy helping teachers and school librarians see how they can use nonfiction to help students write better fiction. Teachers and librarians can find out more about this at my website at www.suzannelieurance.com, too.

 

Follow Day 4 of Ms. Lieurance’s tour tomorrow at www.mayrassecretbookcase.blogspot.com. Leave a comment and your name will automatically be entered to win a Three Angels Gourmet Co mug and a package of Divine Dill Dip Mix – at the end of the month, provided by the National Writing for Children Center.

 

12 responses to this post.

  1. Suzanne,

    Your book sounds fascinating. Thanks for letting me host you.

    Nicole

    Reply

  2. I love how you integrate school use into this fictional story of New York histories most famous fires. Terrific thinking, mate. I so admire your research and dedication.

    Margot’s Magic Carpet – my 11 books all on one page
    http://perfectmagiccarpet.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  3. Hi, Nicole,

    Thanks for hosting Day 3 of my 6 day tour for my book The Locket. Just to let everyone know – I’ll be talking about the book this afternoon with Donna McDine on Book Bites for Kids at 2:00 CDT. Listen to the show online at http://www.bookbitesforkids.com – and did you know that today is the 100th anniversary of this fire?

    I’ll check back here again later and see if there are any questions for me.

    Thanks for your nice comments, Margot!

    Have a wonderful day, everyone!

    Reply

    • Hi Suzanne,

      I wish I could listen to your interview. I will be in the middle of teaching my last Frtench class for the day. Thanks for letting me host you. Have a grand day.

      Nicole

      Reply

  4. Thanks for the tips, Suzanne! Though I have to be honest… I’m here for that mug and dill mix. Sounds yummy! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Very timely topic even years after the tragedy led to much needed reform efforts. Signs of progress but much left to be done.

    Bill

    Reply

  6. Suzanne does a superb job with The Locket… It is a heartwrenching story and so important to learn from so these mistakes are never made again.

    For those of you who missed the Book Bites for Kids interview with Suzanne you can listen to the recording by going to http://www.bookbitesforkids.com

    Best wishes,
    Donna

    Reply

  7. Suzanne, my son was just reading about this tragic event in the news today…what gave you the idea to write TWO books on this event? That’s such a great use of research! -Nancy

    Reply

  8. Suzanne,
    I have to admit. I’m jealous. History is my first lov. Due to my disabilities I can’t comb thru books and newspapers. I’m reliant on the internet for sources and publishers prefer books, newspapers, magazines and interviews of knowledgeable parties.
    Blessings,
    J. Aday Kennedy
    The Differently-Abled Writer & Speaker
    Children’s Author of Klutzy Kantor & Marta’s Gargantuan Wings
    http://www.jadaykennedy.com
    http://brainfartexplosion.blogspot.com

    Reply

  9. This sounds like a fascinating book. I’ll definitely have to read it. It was great to learn a little more about Suzannne, whom I have talked to several times on Book Bites for Kids. Thanks for hosting, Nicole.

    Reply

  10. Sounds like an interesting book. Thanks for sharing about it, Suzanne, and for hosting her, Nicole.

    Reply

  11. What an interesting topic that you don’t hear much about in the world of historical fiction. Great job, Suzanne!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

