AUTHOR INTERVIEW: JESSICA ADAY KENNEDY

Please join me in welcoming the talented, Jessica Aday to my blog.   I decided to interview Jessica after reading and reviewing her newly released book:  Stella the Fire Farting Dragon.   It is always such pleasure learning about how authors get inspired.

 

What inspired you to write Stella the Fire Farting Dragon?

I was inspired by a nephew’s smelly reaction to pizza when I was brainstorming for a topic that would induce laughter and be attractive to reluctant readers. [WARNING -Be careful what you do in front of writers it might end up in print.]


Can you tell me about your background?

I’m a closet historian. I wanted to teach history in a way that would make children love it and not dread it. I got a stroke. Unable to teach, I began writing. I started writing for adults, but found writing for children was a perfect fit. I have the heart (and mind) of a child.

 

How long did it take you to write the book?

It took a day to write the basic story, but it took about three months of editing, tweaking, and allowing the book to sit between drafts.

 Tell about your journey to publication?

My first foray into publishing began with a humorous story about tying dozens of red ribbons in my dad’s hair when he was on a business phone call. I wrote for adults in magazines and newspapers until I became determined to write for Chicken Soup for the Soul anthologies.  My adult works revolved around my faith and inspiring others.

I began writing for children in 2008. I’ve taken dozens of classes, researched writing techniques and read more children’s books than I can count.  All of my picture books are reluctant reader friendly, humorous and teach a positive lesson.

Thank you for doing this interview Jessica. Anything else you would like to say to my readers?

I sell whoopee cushion with Stella’s picture imprinted on them.

 

I also have temporary tattoos with Stella’s picture.  I give them away to anyone who sends me a SASE.

 

For more information about Jessica you can visit her sites:

www.jadaykennedy.com

http://jadaykennedy.blogspot.com

http://brainfartexplosion.blogspot.com

22 responses to this post.

  1. This is great. What humor for those relunctant boys! I’m glad I read this post. It made me smile!

    Reply

  2. I loved the interview. It wasn’t dull. I loved the humor. I never in my wildest would have thought of a farting dragon. Although, I work in a school and know boys of this age and most other ages guffaw at the thought or mention of farts. I’m sure this will be a winner. If Captain Underpants can do it, so can Stella.

    Reply

  3. Great interview. Jess & Nicole. Learned more about Jessica’s sense of humor.

    Reply

  4. Anything that gets reluctant readers reading (and laughing) gets a big thumbs up from me.

    Reply

  5. That is hilarious that you have that cushion! Loved reading the interview.

    Donna

    Reply

  6. OH my gosh…my daughter would love this. She’s 7 – the age where everything fart or poop related is insanely hysterical. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Jessica that cover is fabulous. The book aint half bad either, mate. Great interview too.
    Humor will HOOK kids every time.

    Margot’s Magic Carpet
    Books With a WOW Factor
    http://perfectmagiccarpet.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  8. This sounds like such a great book. Farting and kids certainly go together. I have this one in my TBR pile and I can’t wait to read it.

    Keep up the great work, Jess.

    Cheryl

    Reply

  9. I love the warning about the need for caution around writers. Anything can and WILL be used — probably against you! Great interview and looks like a promising book!

    Reply

  10. Loved the interview and the book.

    Reply

  11. Thanks everyone. All my books seem to come from my family.Usually it’s their personalities, not bodily functions. I’ve got someone working on a “farting” song. and I’m trying to dream up some fun rhyming activities and things to put on the CD, too. I’m having a hard time.
    Blessings,
    J. Aday Kennedy
    The Differently-Abled Writer & Speaker

    Reply

  12. What a funny book idea! Kids will love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

