A Call for Celebration

It does not take much for me to be thankful.  In two days, it will be July 4th.  I celebrate America every day of the year.  I am very thankful to be a naturalized American citizen.  Where would I be without coming to America?  I shudder when I think about the possible answers to this question.  Originally, from Port-au-Prince Haiti, I came to the United when I turned 10.  I worked hard, took advantage of all that was available to me and went to college.  I honestly, do not think I would be alive today, had I not come to America.

Would I be among those living in tent city because of the 2010 earthquake? Would I even be alive? I try my best not to ponder upon these things, but being human, these thoughts do cross my mind.  I think in some ways it is good because it is a constant reminder that I should always remain thankful for what I have.  Therefore, in celebration of July 4th 2012, I am going to share a poem I wrote many moons ago. I LOVE YOU AMERICA!  HAPPY 4th OF JULY TO ALL!

I love America land of majesty
land of great opportunities.

I love America land that bears
the world’s burden on her shoulders

I love America land that dares
to care like none other

I love America
I salute you
I would be destitute without
your absolute pursuit of
liberty for all

I love America land of great resolute
I attribute all of my successes to you!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Nicole, Wishing you a Happy Fourth, too. I believe we are blessed and privileged in America and have a responsibility to give back as best we can. We can help keep America great by instilling strong values, such as kindness to others (people and animals), concern for folks of all ages, courage to do right, caring for our environment, good over evil, and more in our children and through our books. Blessings to you and your family.

    Reply

  2. Love this, thanks for sharing! I’m a new linky follower and would love if you followed me back at http://www.iheartpears.Blogspot.com

    Reply

  3. Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things blog hop.xo P.S. the new giveaway has started!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

